Please Note: This event has expired.

American Journey: Opening Night

at EJ Thomas Performing Arts Hall - University of Akron, Akron OH

Sep 19 2015
American Journey: Opening Night

A journey through the great age of American musical innovation: the 20s, 30s and 40s, and introducing Clint Needham, composer of Sounds of Akron: City Meets Symphony in April 2016. Gershwin’s jazzy masterpiece, his “New York Concerto,” caps the night.

Christopher Wilkins, conductor
Philip Thomson, piano

Aaron Copland  El salón México
Clint Needham  Southern Air
Copland  Rodeo Ballet
George Gershwin  Concerto in F


A (orchestra / floor level) $55.00
D (grand tier) $55.00
B (orchestra / floor level) $45.00
E (grand tier) $45.00
C (orchestra / floor level) $35.00
F (grand tier, sides) $35.00
G (grand tier, center) $35.00
Child/student – A/D $27.50
Child/Student – B/E $22.50
Child/Student – C/F/G $17.50
Valet Parking (optional )$9.00
Parking (optional) $4.00

Contact: 330.535.8131

    Official Website



Various parking decks and lots are located adjacent to the Hall.


    • Assisted Listening System
    • Wheelchair Access


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

about-artsnow artists submit support downtown-akron

Featured Artist

Dance Floor at Lock 4

Borrow Museum Passes with Your Library Card

Need help with your SL365 profile? Don't know how to add an event? Check out these how-to videos.