Apr 07 2021
The Democracy! Suite Featuring the Jazz at Lincoln...

The Democracy! Suite Featuring the Jazz at Lincoln...

Presented by University of Akron School of Music at Online/Virtual Space

The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet with Wynton Marsalis takes the virtual stage on Wednesday, April 7, at 8 p.m. with a free viewing of The Democracy! Suite as part of The University of Akron’s Kulas Concert Series.

In addition to the concert, Marsalis will take part in a live preview conversation on April 7 at 7 p.m., hosted by Dr. Sheldon Wrice, interim vice president for inclusion and equity and chief diversity officer at UA.

Register for the conversation at www.uakron.edu/music/jazz.  Watch the concert online for free at www.uakron.edu/music.  Both events are free, sponsored by The University of Akron’s Office of Inclusion and Equity and the UA School of Music’s Kulas Concert Series, generously supported by the Cleveland-based Kulas Foundation.

Led by trumpeter/composer Wynton Marsalis and featuring seven of jazz’s finest soloists, the concert’s unique repertoire celebrates jazz’s embodiment of freedom and democracy.

The Democracy! Suite is a new Marsalis composition written during the ongoing COVID-19 crisis as a response to the political, social, and economic struggles facing our nation. The Democracy! Suite is a swinging and stimulating instrumental rumination on the issues that have recently dominated our lives as well as the beauty that could emerge from a collective effort to create a better future.

This concert was filmed on September 27, 2020 at Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City in accordance with the New York State Department of Health Interim Guidance on Media Production during the COVID-19 Emergency.

In addition to Marsalis, the septet features Elliot Mason, trombone, Ted Nash, alto saxophone and flute, Walter Blanding, tenor and soprano saxophones, Dan Nimmer, piano, Carlos Henriquez, bass, and Obed Calvaire, drums.

For more information, call 330-972-8301 or email concerts@uakron.edu.

Admission Info

Free Admission

Phone: 330-972-8301

Email: concerts@uakron.edu

Dates & Times

2021/04/07 - 2021/04/07

Location Info

Online/Virtual Space